Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

RESA 8 names advisory council for 2010-2011

October 23, 2010
The Inter-Mountain

Each year RESA 8 relies on its qualified and committed regional advisory council to ensure progress and support of the vast opportunities and services offered. Executive Director Jane Lynch has announced the 2010-2011 RESA 8 Regional Council.

Headquartered in Martinsburg, RESA 8 provides educational enhancement resources for students, teachers and the public in Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral, Morgan and Pendleton counties.

"RESA 8 is fortunate to have an exceptional group of individuals from our local counties as advisers," Lynch said.

Article Photos

ON BOARD — Doug Lambert, superintendent of Pendleton County Schools, left, and Jane Lynch, executive director of RESA 8, look forward to working together throughout the next year. Lambert will serve another year on RESA 8’s Regional Advisory Council.

"I am confident that with the advice of our council members RESA 8 will continue to better our communities and educational services," she said.

Each of the eight counties that comprise RESA 8 is represented by its superintendent of schools and one board of education member. The advisory council also consists of one instructional leader, school principal, teacher and representative of the West Virginia Department of Education as an ex-officio, non-voting member.

"I have worked with the Regional Advisory Council for nine years," said Doug Lambert, superintendent of Pendleton County Schools. "The council meetings provide us an opportunity to discuss common problems and brainstorming solutions. Our county board member representative, Sonny O'Neil, has been a council member for 15-plus years."

The 2010-2011 RESA 8 Regional Advisory Council members are Berkeley County Superintendent of Schools Manny Arvon, Berkeley County BOE member Dr. William Queen, Grant County Superintendent of Schools Dr. DeDe Lundeen, Grant County BOE member David Jones, Hampshire County Superintendent of Schools Robin Lewis, Hampshire County BOE member Linda Baker, Hardy County Superintendent of Schools Barbara Whitecotton, Hardy County BOE member Margaret Shriver, Jefferson County Superintendent of Schools Susan Wall, Jefferson County BOE member Alan Sturm, Mineral County Superintendent of Schools Tilden "Skip" Hackworth, Mineral County BOE member Terry LaRue, Morgan County Superintendent of Schools David Banks, Morgan County BOE member David Ambrose, Pendleton County Superintendent of Schools Doug Lambert, Pendleton County BOE member Rick Gillespie, Pendleton County BOE member Sonny O'Neil, West Virginia Schools for the Deaf and the Blind Superintendent Dr. Patsy Shank, Dr. Douglas Smith of Shepherd University, Dr. Dwayne Wright of Shepherd University's department of education, WVDOE Office of School Transportation Executive Director Ben Shew and Office of Special Programs and Extended and Early Learning Executive Director Pat Homberg.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web