Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Polar Bears win Big 10 golf title

EHS, PB and LC?finish at the bottom of the pack; B-U leads area squads

September 21, 2011
By John Wickline - Staff Writer , The Inter-Mountain

ROANOKE - Fairmont Senior's Nick Sinclair and Sterling Fitzwater both fired 76s to lead their team to victory on a rainy Tuesday in the Big 10 Conference golf tournament at the Stonewall Resort.

Fairmont Senior carded a team total of 247 to defeat runner-up North Marion by five strokes. Bridgeport finished third at 255. Buckhannon-Upshur, East Fairmont and Grafton all tied for fourth with a 236 total. Robert C. Byrd took seventh at 272, followed by Elkins, 275; Lewis County, 276; Philip Barbour, 281; and Lincoln, 299. Liberty also competed in the tournament, but did not field enough golfers to post a team score.

Buckhannon was led by Alex Louk, who shot 83 on the soggy course to earn all-Big 10 honors. Dalton Westfall came in with an 89. J.D. Christlip shot 91, and Matt Cunningham carded a 93.

Article Photos

The Inter-Mountain photo by John Wickline
Elkins High School’s Braden Hammond tees off Tuesday at the Big 10 golf tournament at Stonewall Jackson Resort.

Elkins was led by Braden Hammond's round of 89, followed by Kollin Hopwood, 92; Houston Schuler, 94; and Alex Baird, 95.

Adam Jeffries paced Lewis County with a round of 88, followed by Don Pethel, 92; Thomas Snyder, 96; and Andrew Pope, 97.

Justin Thorne came in with an 81, the second-best round of the day, to lead Philip Barbour. Other Colts on the course were Luke Freeman, 96; Bryant Martin, 104; and Chance Price, 108.

The golf season concludes next week with the regional qualifier for the state tournament.

Elkins, Buckhannon-Upshur and Lewis County will head to the eastern panhandle Monday to play the Locust Hill Golf Course in Charles Town.

Philip Barbour will play its AA regional at the Stonewall Jackson Resort.

Fairmont Senior's Nick Sinclair and Sterling Fitzwater shared Player of the Year honors on the all-conference team.

First team members include Jay Schwartzmiller (RCB), Justin Thorne (Philip Barbour), Evan Gorman (East Fairmont), Caleb Lee (North Marion), Alex Louk (Buckhannon-Upshur) and Ryan Lowell (North Marion).

Second team members include Christian Hitt (Bridgeport), Cameron Ford (Bridgeport), Brent Rhodes (Bridgeport), Austin Swiger (North Marion), Mark Pinti (Bridgeport), Mitchel Crutchfield (Grafton), Blake Kiger (RCB) and Lucas Ware (Grafton).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web