Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Public can vote for next W.Va. Scholar

June 5, 2012
The Inter-Mountain

Ten West Virginia high schools juniors are vying to become the next West Virginia Scholar.

The contest enables the public to choose the winner of the four-year scholarship - estimated at $125,000 - to West Virginia Wesleyan College in Buckhannon.

The 10 finalists are Jackson Carey, of Follansbee; Mary Casto, of Inwood; Jordan Danko, of Ravenswood; Anna Flesher, of Murraysville; Kathalyn Maxson, of Ravenswood; Andrew Mellert, of Kenna; Summer Peyton, of Chapmanville; Rachel Ransom, of Kearneysville; Allison Roberts, of Vienna; and Emily Stasny, of Tioga.

Anyone can vote for one of these finalists at until June 17. A photo, short biography and a video interview with each finalist and his/her parents are available at the website to help individuals make a decision. The winner will be announced during a luncheon June 21 at Wesleyan.

The first-place scholarship provides for undergraduate study including tuition, fees, room and board at Wesleyan. The second-place winner will receive a four-year $5,000 scholarship, and third prize is a four-year $2,500 scholarship to Wesleyan. Each award begins in the 2013 fall semester.

The West Virginia Scholar Program is sponsored by Energize WV, the West Virginia Coal Association, the West Virginia Forestry Association, West Virginia Wesleyan and MetroNews.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web