Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Cross country competitors race at MSFF

PB girls finish strong at meet

September 28, 2012
By Andrew Davis - Staff Writer , The Inter-Mountain

The Philip Barbour High School girls cross country team placed second at the Forest Festival Invitational on the campus of Davis & Elkins College.

Hampshire won the girls race with a 56. Philip Barbour (88), Jefferson (106), Musselman (115), Bridgeport (134) and Scott (144) followed.

Tucker County (178), Capital (210), Buckhannon-Upshur (241), Washington (248), Braxton County (253), East Fairmont (272), Pike View (284) and Elkins (303) rounded out the girls' field.

Article Photos

The Inter-Mountain photo by Andrew Davis
A pack of runners battle for position at the start of the Forest Festival Invitational cross country race on the campus of Davis & Elkins College. Jefferson High School won the boys overall team title with a score of 24.

The Lady Colts were led by Brianna Waybright, who finished the competition fourth overall with a time of 21:37.

Other competitors for Philip Barbour were: Marissa Long (7th, 22:14), Allison Villers (8th, 22:19), Katie Mahoney (12th, 22:37), Haley Truman (66th, 26:34), Nicole Holiday (97th, 30:29) and Anna Farling (103rd, 34:24).

Tucker County was led by Ashley Cassidy (9th, 22:20), Taylor Ambrose (29th, 23:54), Madison Mullenax (45th, 24:47), Lenae Cole (52nd, 25:22), Jessica Kincaid (70th, 26:51), Miranda Siler (79th, 27:41) and Emily Siler (82nd, 27:54).

Laura Dean (24th, 23:43), Casey Thorpe (57th, 25:48), Sarah Pappas (62nd, 26:14), Lizzy Floyd (63rd, 26:17), Chelsea Carlyle (75th, 27:06) and Samantha Pappas (83rd, 27:57) paced B-U.

Elkins was led by Hannah Gongola (25th, 23:44), Kathlyne Simmons (55th, 25:41), Eliza Cook (85th, 28:12), Jordan Holt (92nd, 29:18) and Lea Fedder (98th, 30:32).

Hannah Blankenship (87th, 28:37), Cheyenne Corathers (95th, 29:47), Amanda Young (99th, 30:59) and Shirley Zheng (100th, 31:05) competed for Lewis County.

Jefferson captured the boys' team title with a score of 24. Hampshire (107), Musselman (127), Bridgeport (131) and Philip Barbour (149) finished second through fifth in the team standing.

Elkins (162), Hedgesville (190), Capital (203), Washington (211), Webster County (221), Trinity (277), Tucker County (295), Buckhannon-Upshur (315) and Lewis County (353) followed.

Philip Barbour was led by Scott Neesland (13th, 18:45), Trey Furby (19th, 19:30), Tyler Baldwin (35th, 20:19), Trevor Matko (37th, 20:26), Bryce McGee (60th, 21:13) and Ian Nuzum (66th, 21:38).

Austin Hamrick (14th, 18:52), Matt Wallace (22nd, 19:45), Remington Knight (26th, 19:58), Nate Simons (28th, 20:02) and Tyson Currence (90th, 23:32) powered Elkins.

Tucker County's top finishers were: Nick Atkins (30th, 20:12), Walker Blosser (47th, 20:47), Anthony Gwynn (84th, 22:39), Zack Southerm (85th, 22:45) and Devon Anderson (86th, 22:57).

Chad Christenson (54th, 21:01), Joseph Smith (58th, 21:12), Kirk Russell (74th, 22:08), Ethan Hull (77th, 22:14) and Josh Carr (96th, 24:18) competed in the race for Buckhannon-Upshur.

Lewis County's top runners were: Seth Gandee (78th, 22:15), Alex Cayton (99th, 24:25), Chris Thayer (107th, 28:33), Cody Henderson (110, 33:28) and Alecs Flint (111th, 33:28).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web